“Is it true that if you don’t use it you lose it?”

Google: Yeah.

Starting Monday, March 26th, inactive AdWords accounts—defined by Google as those that have not spent any money at all in the past 15 months—will be “cancelled.”

Here’s what we know…

“Why Is Google Killing My AdWords Account?”

Because you didn’t use it!

The impending AdPurge aligns with Google’s push towards faster everything: per a recent post on the Ads Developer Blog, accounts “will be cancelled in order to speed up the AdWords experience and help users stay within the manager account limits.” Cancelled means exactly what it sounds like: all the wonderful historical data in your account will fade into the ether. Don’t be too upset, you weren’t using it anyway.

deleted adwords account for inactivity
Stock photo

By scrubbing AdWords of stored data that’s gone unused for more than a year, Google can alleviate strain on the backend that can make account management and API calls—this is how software like ours interacts with the native platform—substantially faster.

If your account is among those cancelled and you happen to have left unspent, prepaid budget in your coffers, it will be refunded (thanks, Google!)

“My AdWords Account’s Been Cancelled, What Now?!”

Well, you’ve got a few options.

The first, and most obvious, step is to create a new AdWords account. If you haven’t dipped your toes into the PPC water in 15 months, this could be a better bet than reactivation. A lot has changed since 2016, and an all-out rebuild might be more valuable to your business than attempting to resuscitate an antiquated account.

That being said, if you do want to reactivate a cancelled AdWords account, just follow these steps:

In the new AdWords UI, click the tool icon at the top of the page and select “Preferences.”

reactivate cancelled adwords account

Click the “Account Status” section…

adwords account reactivation

If your account is deleted, there will be an option to reactivate your account here; click it and the status will kick back over to “your account is active.” Now go use it.