The Securities and Exchange Commission recently announced the nominees for the newly created Investor Advisory Committee.

The group will comprise 21 members, established in compliance with the Dodd-Frank Act. The SEC appointed Anne Sheehan, director of corporate governance at the California State Teachers’ Retirement System (CalSTRS) to serve as a committee member.

Sheehan held several positions within senior management focused on corporate governance laws, regulations, and finance; and she has been the director of corporate governance at CalSTRS.

According to the SEC, the committee will offer counsel on various regulatory priorities and initiatives to safeguard investor interests. The committee was selected by all five sitting commissioners and is made up of members with diverse qualifications.

Prior to CalSTRS, Sheehan served as chief deputy director for policy at the California Department of Finance. She serves as a board member of the Council of Institutional Investors and the NASDAQ Listing Council.