It’s actually happening. After years of waiting Facebook users will soon be able to unfollow friends whose comments and updates they’d like to remove from their News Feed.
Using the same concepts as Twitter and Instagram, the new phrasing (which was first reported by TechCrunch) will replace the “Hide All” button. This button is available to users in the drop-down on posts in the News Feed. Now, with a click of a button you can just get rid of John’s rants about Black Friday or Michelle’s 10,000th photo of her puppy. The best part is that friends will not be notified if they’ve been unfollowed. So don’t worry about hurting anyone’s feelings – it’s not like you’re unfriending them.
“The goal of this change is to help people curate their News Feed and see more of the content that they care about,” a Facebook spokesperson wrote in a statement given to Mashable.
The social media giant is constantly trying to cut down the confusion users see (especially from advertising), while also working to ensure the users are seeing posts that are most relevant. Facebook began rolling out the “unfollow” button and related changes to its users on Monday.
The “Unfollow Button” will be available to desktop users in the coming weeks and will available on iOS and Android in the coming months, according to a spokesperson.
What do you think about this new feature? Let us know in the comments below.
Comments on this article are closed.