Wet Hot American Summer Returns As A Netflix Limited Series

David Wain’s ‘Wet Hot American Summer’ returns as a Netflix limited series. The follow-up to the 2001 cult classic is finally happening, after Wain made many deals and prepared for the series, and it will run for 8-episodes.

The filming of the ‘Wet Hot American Summer’ series has started this week. Fans of the film will be happy that just about everyone from original cast is coming back too.

‘Wet Hot American Summer’ returns, as well as the ensemble cast of Elizabeth Banks, H. Jon Benjamin, Michael Ian Black, Bradley Cooper, Judah Friedlander, Janeane Garofalo, Nina Hellman, Ken Marino, Zak Orth, David Hyde Pierce, Joe LoTruglio, Christopher Meloni, A.D. Miles, Marguerite Moreau, Amy Poehler, Paul Rudd, Marisa Ryan, Molly Shannon, Michael Showalter and Kevin Sussman.

David Wain will reprise his role as the director for the Netflix’s ‘Wet Hot American Summer’ series. He also wrote the series with Michael Showalter, who he wrote the original film with. Howard Bernstein will be producing it, and the executive producers are Jonathan Stern and Peter Principato.

This is the second cult classic project that Netflix has revived, the first being ‘Arrested Development’. The streaming giant profited on ‘Arrested Development’, which also has a star studded cast, and they’re looking to do the same with the ‘Wet Hot American Summer’ series.

The original film takes place on the last day of the sunny season at a Jewish summer camp in 1981. ‘Wet Hot American Summer’ flopped in theaters, but went on to become a cult classic. Rudd, Cooper, Banks, and Poehler also went on to become stars later on.

‘Wet Hot American Summer’ returns to Netflix as a limited series, and fans will be sure to tune into the antics of ‘The State’ alumni and the ensemble cast.

Are you stoked on ‘Wet Hot American Summer’ coming back in this form?

Read more: ‘Wet Hot American Summer’s Netflix Prequel Releases Teaser Trailer [Watch]