While astrology isn’t a science, it is one of those things that people just kind of enjoy in passing. How many times have you scanned your horoscope in the newspaper or magazine? While there are people who swear by them, there has never really been any proof that the zodiac constellations have any true bearing on your daily life. Most people who read them just do so for the entertainment value. Still, for those who read them in any capacity, there’s a certain kind of identity to be found in one’s zodiac sign.

According to a post on NASA’s Tumblr:

The Babylonians lived over 3,000 years ago. They divided the zodiac into 12 equal parts – like cutting a pizza into 12 equal slices. They picked 12 constellations in the zodiac, one for each of the 12 “slices.” So, as Earth orbits the sun, the sun would appear to pass through each of the 12 parts of the zodiac. Since the Babylonians already had a 12-month calendar (based on the phases of the moon), each month got a slice of the zodiac all to itself.

Your zodiac sign is then determined by which part of the zodiac the sun passed through when you were born.

There’s a problem there, though, as NASA pointed out in that same post: there are actually 13 constellations in the zodiac. The Babylonians left one out because 12 fits the 12-month calendar year more neatly. Alas, poor Ophiuchus is the forgotten constellation.

And while NASA points out that astrology isn’t a science, if it’s something you follow, then acknowledging Ophiuchus means that your zodiac sign probably has changed with the addition of the 13th sign.

NASA did the math to determine how many days the sun stays in each constellation, and there are some significant changes. For example, now we know that the sun only stays in my sign, Scorpio, for 7 days of the whole year. So now I’m apparently a Libra as a result. Ophiuchus now takes up 19 days.

The adjusted signs are as follows, according to Inverse:

Capricorn: January 20 – February 16

Aquarius: February 16 – March 11

Pisces: March 11 – April 18

Aries: April 18 – May 13

Taurus: May 13 – June 21

Gemini: June 21- July 20

Cancer: July 20 – August 10

Leo: August 10 – September 16

Virgo: September 16 – October 30

Libra: October 30 – November 23

Scorpio: November 23 – 29

Ophiuchus: November 29 – December 17

Sagittarius: December 17 – January 20

People really weren’t feeling their new signs on social media.

If astrology is your thing, where do you stand on the new zodiac signs? Will you stick with your old sign or adopt the new one?