The Future of Marketing: Social Listening + Action — Free Webcast ›
Popular Today in Social: All Popular Articles

Your Facebook Inbox Is For Sale

Facebook’s Monetization Strategy Hits Your Inbox!

Finally, users begin to see the goal that Facebook had in mind by creating a unified communication system and getting people more focused on relying on their Facebook inbox!

Recently, my friend Marquita Herald asked,

“Afternoon all, I have a quick question. Admittedly I’ve been hanging on the fringe lately, once again in book writing mode, so I could well be the only one who didn’t know about this, but earlier I tried to send a message to someone in another group and because we’re not “Friends” this little box popped up saying something to the effect FB would be happy to deliver the message to their inbox for $1 … huh?! Also, when I sent the friend request I didn’t see an option to add a note – has that gone away to – do we really have to pay to add a note to a friend request?! What planet have I been on?!”

The odds are you haven’t seen this yet… but you will soon!

Yes it’s coming and yes it’s standard and no we don’t all have it yet.

Related Resources from B2C
» Free Webcast: The Future of Marketing: Social Listening + Action

All of us have 2 “boxes” on Facebook: the “inbox” and the “other” box.

By default, any message from a non-friend goes to the other box. This is why you can’t safely ignore the other box. The $1 option lets someone override that and get into the “inbox” which means its more likely to get seen .

Anyone that doesn’t have it will likely have it soon. Like everything else, its rolling out on a one-profile-at-a-time rollout.

Additionally, Facebook removed the “add a note to a friend request” feature well over a year ago. So you’ve HAD to manually “walk over” and send a message manually for about a year. It used to be right there with the “send request” but it’s not been for some time.

So that changed… and then a time gap… and now this change… so you can still send the not, and still for free, you just have to know it’s going to the “other” folder.

Does this mean that spammers can now get into your inbox? Sure does. Although at $1 a piece they will rapidly go broke which is sure to deter any who do not have a high value per lead.

Does this mean that you need to pay if you want to send a message to someone to attempt to get connected? Yes. (The idea is that if they already know you outside of Facebook, you won’t need the message. And the rules say you’re only supposed to connect with people you know outside of Facebook. Most of us ignore those rules.)

So, when you see this message pop up, now you’ll know what it’s all about!

Have you encountered this charge feature yet? Do you think it will make Facebook much money? How do you feel about it?

RSS Comments Feed

Comments on this Article: 0

Add a Comment

Add a Comment:


Thank you for adding to the conversation!

Our comments are moderated. Your comment may not appear immediately.